Registration of diesel cars with engines of over 2000cc banned in Delhi

delhi odd even car rule

According to a latest order from the Supreme Court, registration of all diesel vehicles with more than 2000cc engines have been banned till 31st March 2016. Though the court had convened to hear out the case of all automotive companies, the Chief Justice said that people’s lives are at stake here and companies are instead looking to sell cars.

The new order states:

1. All trucks not carrying goods for Delhi from NH1 (Punjab) and NH8 (Jaipur) have been banned.

2. All taxis in the NCR region have to convert to CNG by 31st March 2016.

3. All commercial vehicles registered before 2005 are not allowed to enter Delhi.

The Vice Chairman of Toyota Kirloskar Motor said that the new order has to be studied further as many companies will be affected by a large scale. Sales of bestselling models like the Fortuner and Innova have been banned for the Japanese company.

The new order follows the NGT’s ban of registering diesel cars in the capital. NGT also said that the government must now stop buying diesel cars in Delhi as well. However, these are only provisional as of now till the next hearing date that is scheduled to take place on 6th January 2016.

Statistical figures suggest that 23 percent cars registered in Delhi are diesel. The problem with diesel cars is the fact that they emit 7.5 times more particulate matter and also more nitrogen dioxide as compared to petrol cars. Diesel emissions are also associated to causing cancer according to the World Health Organisation.

Other than banning trucks registered before 2005 from entering Delhi, tax for trucks entering the city has gone up to Rs. 1400 from Rs. 700. According to the latest ban, sales of many cars have been put on hold. All the affected models are as follows:

Mahindra Bolero
Mahindra Scorpio
Mahindra XUV500
SsangYong Rexton
Tata Sumo
Tata Safari
Tata Xenon
Toyota Fortuner
Toyota Innova
Chevrolet Trailblazer
Mercedes-Benz A-Class – A 200 d
Mercedes-Benz B-Class – B 200 CDI Sport
Mercedes-Benz C-Class – C 220 CDI
Mercedes-Benz CLA – 200 CDI
Mercedes-Benz CLS – CLS 250 CDI
Mercedes-Benz E-Class – E 250 CDI Avantgarde, E 350 CDI Avantgarde
Mercedes-Benz GL – GL 350 CDI
Mercedes-Benz GLA – GLA 200 CDI
Mercedes-Benz GLE – GLE 250 d 4MATIC, GLE 350 d 4MATIC
Mercedes-Benz S-Class – S 350 CDI
Audi – Q5 45 TDI Quattro
Audi Q7
Audi A8L
BMW 5 Series 530d M Sport
BMW 6 Series Gran Coupe
BMW 7 Series, ActiveHybrid
BMW Z4 Roadster
BMW X3 xDrive 30d M Sport
Volvo S60 D5 Inscription
Volvo CX60 D5 Inscription
Volvo S80 D5 Inscription