Malaysian GP 2015: Sebastian Vettel wins F1 race, leaves Lewis Hamilton disappointed

Sebastian Vettel wins 2015 Malaysian F1

For all the racing fans and aficionados who wanted a thrilling season this time, the wait is over because Ferrari has gone ahead and clinched the title in this year`s Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang.

Since the 2013 Spanish Grand Prix, it was Ferrari’s first victory and Sebastian Vettel beat Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton. While the German chose to stay out during their early safety car period where they simply assumed their lead, Vettel then took charge and made a two-stop strategy which worked wonders, on the other hand, Mercedes did three stops with Hamilton and Nico Rosberg.

It is Vettel’s first victory since 2013 Year’s season finale in Brazil with Hamilton retaining the championship lead with 43 points, Vettel at three points adrift and Rosberg, who finished third was seven further back. For sure, dominant performance from Mercedes in Australia gave a massive boost to F1 as Ferrari provided a sterner challenge to the reigning world champion team.

During the interesting racing session, Vettel held onto second position during the start behind Hamilton and chose to stay out when the safety car was called into action following Marcus Ericsson’s spin into the Turn 1 gravel during lap four. Hamilton and Rosberg chose to do a pit stop for tyre changes. Vettel being intelligent pitted at the end of the lap 17 and fitted the medium tyres before chasing the other two who were on their old rubber.

After all the strategies and hardship, Lewis Hamilton assured that he would be able to catch and pass Vettel to be the winner, however, that was not the case as it was clear when Hamilton was unable to chase Vettel. It was Kimi Raikkonen who recovered to a strong fourth in the second Ferrari where he was even dropped to the back of the field during a puncture sustained in contact with Felipe Nasr’s Sauber on the first lap of the race. At around the outside at Turn 5 to finish fifth, Valtteri Bottas passed Williams team-mate Felipe Massa with his brilliant late move followed by Max Verstappen (Passed Toro Rosso team-mate Carlos Sainz later on).

Having made contact with Force India’s Nice Hulkenberg, Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat, recovered from the spin and completed in the top 10. At the fast Turn 12, Romain Grosjean had an exciting race as he tried an ambitious move outside of Sergio Perez only to clip Force India and spin.

During the finishing point, Grosjean finished outside the points in 11th place while Perez received a 10 second penalty due to causing an incident and finally, finishing at 13th. Hulkenberg, on the other hand was 14th from Force India after suffering a 10 second time penalty for hitting kvyat at Turn 2. The Last driver, the Manor’s Roberto Merhi, was seen to the chequered flag in 15th position.

After picking up a puncture on the first lap, Pastor Maldonado retired the Lotus after running well down the field. McLarens showed great improvement in its pace but had nothing to show as Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button had to return with mechanical problems which plagued their cars.

Stevens did not start the race and his Manor Team was also not able to cure the fuel system issue, which led to stop his car from running to qualifying.

Sebastian Vettel