Gaurav Gill wins his fifth event in the Mahindra Adventure Rally Of Maharashtra

The Mahindra Adventure Rally of Maharashtra has been won by reigning national champion Gaurav Gill. The driver along with co-driver Musa Sherif, won the competition by a margin of four minutes. The second round of the FMSCI Indian Rally Championship was being held in Nashik (which is also Mahindra’s hometown) over the last weekend and Gaurav Gill, 33 who comes from the national capital along with his co-driver clocked an overall time of 1 hour 26 minutes and 25 seconds.

2015 Rally of Maharastra 9

Taking second spot on the podium was driver Amitrajit Ghosh and co-driver Ashwin Naik. The two together clocked an overall time of 1 hour 30 minutes and 26 seconds on the same day. The award for drive of the day was given to Arjun Rao Aroor who along with co-driver Sathish Rajagopan raced in the Volkswagen Polo R2. Amitrajit Ghosh and Arjun Rao Aroor were tied when going into the final run of the Spectator Special Stage.

Lohitt Urs who resides in Mysore took fourth position in his Mitsubishi EVO VIII. He had reached Nashik just hours before the rally actually began. The driver’s spare parts and tyres could only arrive later, forcing him to race on street tyres with just 50 litres of fuel on board his EVO.
Winner Gaurav Gill was ecstatic about his win which also marks his 21st win alongside co-driver Sherif over the last 8 years that they have been rallying together. According to the driver, the special stages of the rally that were held in Maharashtra were both technical and fast, but the same suited Gill’s style of driving. He is now looking forward to the events that follow later this year.

2015 Mahindra Adventure Rally of Maharastra Photo Gallery –

2015 Rally of Maharastra 9


2015 Rally of Maharastra 8


2015 Rally of Maharastra 7


2015 Rally of Maharastra 6


2015 Rally of Maharastra 5


2015 Rally of Maharastra 4


2015 Rally of Maharastra 3


2015 Rally of Maharastra 2


2015 Rally of Maharastra 1


2015 Rally of Maharastra